ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Prize Money, Players list, Schedule

Hubert Hurkacz Shanghai Masters champion

Shanghai Masters, also known as Rolex Shanghai Masters due to sponsorship, was founded in 1899.  The event is one of the most prestigious tennis tournaments in China and is also considered the largest event in China.

The Event has played at the Qizhong Forest Sports City Arena, located in Shanghai, China. It features more than 30 courts including indoor and outdoor features. The main tennis stadium is Forest Sports City Arena- Center court with over 15,000 sitting capacity.

ATP Shanghai Masters Tennis Tournament

The 2023 Rolex Shanghai Masters is the 12th edition of the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000, taking place on outdoor hard courts as part of the 2023 ATP Tour. It is scheduled from October 4th to October 15th, 2023, at the Qizhong Forest Sports City Arena in Shanghai, China.

LocationShanghai, China.
VenueQizhong Forest Sports City Arena
Tour categoryATP 1000
Prize Money$8,800,000 (Total Commitment $10,046,270)
Draw64 S, 32 D

ATP Shanghai Masters Records

  • Most Titles: Novak Djokovic holds the record for the most Shanghai Rolex Masters titles, with 4 championships (2012, 2013, 2015, and 2018).
  • Youngest Champion: In 2006, Novak Djokovic also became the youngest champion in the tournament’s history at the age of 19.
  • Consecutive Titles: Roger Federer achieved a remarkable feat by winning the tournament three times consecutively from 2006 to 2008.
  • Oldest Champion: At 32 years old, Andy Murray became the oldest champion in 2019.
  • Fastest Final: In 2017, Roger Federer won the final in just 1 hour and 12 minutes, marking one of the shortest finals in tournament history.
  • Longest Final: The 2013 final between Novak Djokovic and Juan Martin del Potro lasted 3 hours and 21 minutes, making it one of the longest finals in the tournament’s history.
  • Doubles Dominance: The Bryan brothers, Bob and Mike Bryan, have won the doubles title at the Shanghai Rolex Masters five times (2007, 2008, 2010, 2013, and 2015).

ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Results

2023 Shanghai singles title won by Hubert Hurkacz. In a thrilling contest, Hurkacz saved a match point to prevail 6-3, 3-6, 7-6 (8) against Andrey Rublev. Polish star wins 2nd ATP 1000 masters in his career. While in the doubles, Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos defeated Rohan Bopanna and Matthew Ebden in final with 5-7,6-2,10-7.

Hubert Hurkacz Shanghai masters 2023
Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos

Read Also: Today’s Tennis Live Score

ATP Shanghai Masters History and Winners

The Shanghai ATP Masters 1000 was created through collaboration between the ATP World Tour and the Chinese Tennis Association to boost tennis in China and Asia. In 2010, it became the Shanghai Rolex Masters following a sponsorship deal.

Shanghai’s tennis journey began in 1996 with the inaugural Shanghai Open, won by Andrei Olhovskiy. The city hosted the 2002 Tennis Masters Cup, leading to Shanghai securing the tournament from 2005 to 2007. The Qizhong Forest Sports City Arena was built in 2005 to host these year-end championships, extending the deal to 2006. Notable champions during this period included Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic.

In 2009, Shanghai added an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event to its tennis portfolio, transitioning from indoor to outdoor hard courts. The rebranding accompanied the relocation of the Tennis Masters Cup to London as the ATP World Tour Finals. Rolex became the official sponsor, and the event was launched in May 2009 under the slogan “Simply The Best.” The Shanghai Rolex Masters became the centerpiece of an Asian tennis swing in the 2009 ATP World Tour calendar, following tournaments in Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Tokyo, and Beijing.


YearPrize MoneySingles championsDoubles Champions
2023$8,800,000 Hubert HurkaczMarcel Granollers
Horacio Zeballos
2019$8,322,885Daniil MedvedevMate Pavić
Bruno Soares
2018$7,086,700Novak DjokovicŁukasz Kubot
Marcelo Melo
2017$5,924,890Roger FedererHenri Kontinen
John Peers
2016$5,452,985Andy MurrayJohn Isner
Jack Sock
2015$4,783,320Novak Djokovic Raven Klaasen
Marcelo Melo 
2014$4,195,895Roger FedererBob Bryan
Mike Bryan

ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Prize Money

In 2023 Prize money will be $8,800,000 whereas total commitment of the event is $10,046,270. Winner of 2023 singles champion will have $1,262,220 and doubles champion will receive $436,730.

2023 event prize money distribution is as follows:

StageSingles Prize MoneyDoubles Prize MoneyATP Points
4th Round$96,95590
3rd Round$55,77045
2nd Round$30,885$28,31025 / 90
1st Round$18,660$18,02010 / 0

Shanghai Masters 2023 Draws

The event will have 96 singles and 32 doubles draws that will be released as the tournament progresses. 12 qualifiers will join 84 singles main draw entries in 1st round.

ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Dates, Schedule

The main draw will be held across a week from 4 to 15th October with a qualification round set for 2nd and 3rd of October.

The official schedule for the ATP section of the event is as follows:

 DateSingles MatchesDoubles Matches
4 OctoberRound 1—–
5 OctoberRound 1 —–
6 OctoberRound 1—–
7 OctoberRound 2Round 1
8 OctoberRound 2Round 1
9 OctoberRound 2 – Round 3Round 1
10 OctoberRound 3Round 2
11 OctoberRound 3 – Round 4Round 2
12 OctoberRound 4Round 2
13 OctoberQuarter FinalsQuarter Finals
14 OctoberSemi-FinalsSemi-Finals
15 OctoberFinaleFinale

Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Players list

2023 Entry List of Shanghai Open have all top 35 players except world no 1 Novak Djokovic. Daniil Medvedev will be featured as well to defend his title. While 3 times Shanghai Champion Andy Murray will also be featured.

Top Seed Players

SeedPlayerATP Ranking
1Carlos Alcaraz2
2Daniil Medvedev3
3Holger Rune4
4Stefanos Tsitsipas5
5Andrey Rublev6
6Jannik Sinner7
7Taylor Fritz8
8Casper Ruud9
9Alexander Zverev10
10Frances Tiafoe11
11Alex de Minaur12
12Tommy Paul13
13Karen Khachanov14
14Felix Auger Aliassime15
15Cameron Norrie16
16Hubert Hurkacz (champion)17
17Lorenzo Musetti18
18Grigor Dimitrov19
19Ben Shelton20
20Francisco Cerundolo21
21Jan Lennard Struff22
22Nicolas Jarry23
23Tallon Griekspoor24
24Alejandro Davidovich Fokina25
25Borna Coric26
26Sebastian Baez27
27Sebastian Korda28
28Jiri Leheck29
29Denis Shapovalov30
30Tomás Martín Etcheverry31
31Christopher Eubanks32
32Dan Evans33

Wildcard Entries (and Protected Ranking PR)

  • Fabio Fognini
  • Diego Schwartzman
  • Shang Juncheng
  • Bu Yunchaokete
  • Te Rigele
  • Kwon Soon-woo (PR)
  • Milos Raonic (PR)

ATP Shanghai Open Doubles Players list

1Ivan Dodig / Austin Krajicek
2Wesley Koolhof / Neal Skupski
3Rajeev Ram / Joe Salisbury
4Rohan Bopanna / Matthew Ebden
5Máximo González / Andrés Molteni
6Santiago González / Édouard Roger-Vasselin
7Marcel Granollers / Horacio Zeballos (champions)
8Marcelo Arévalo / Jean-Julien Rojer

ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters 2023 Tickets

You can buy single session packages, premium tickets, mini packages & full series packages by visiting the following links.

  • Buy ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters Tickets Online from Stubhub
  • Buy ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters Tickets Online from Viagogo
  • Buy ATP Rolex Shanghai Masters Tickets Online from official

Similar Posts