Tata Open Maharashtra 2023 Champions, Prize Money, Players List, Schedule

Tata Open Maharashtra

The only tour-level event from South Asia is returning as one of the first tournaments kicking off the 2023 season. India and South Asia as a whole have tens of thousands of die-hard tennis fans and as the only home tournament, the Tata Open is one of the most anticipated event of the year for tennis fans in the Indian subcontinent. To learn more about the only ATP tournament based in Pune, India, keep on reading.

Tata Open Maharashtra

Tata Open Maharashtra Tennis Tournament

The Maharashtra Open, better known by its sponsored name, the Tata Open Maharashtra is an outdoor annual hard court tournament held in Pune, India. It is in the ATP 250 category and the only tour-level event in South Asia. This year, its marked the 5th edition of the event under their current title sponsor Tata Group and the overall 27th edition of the Maharashtra Open. The event returned to an outdoor venue available to the public after being held behind closed doors in 2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The tournament has also been pushed back from when it was held in 2022 to now being one of the introductory tournaments of the 2023 season. Title sponsor Tata Group is the biggest multinational conglomerate of India headquartered in Mumbai.

LocationPune, India
VenueMhalunge Balewadi Tennis Complex
Tour categoryATP 250
Prize Money$713,495
Draw28 S, 16 D

Tata Open Maharashtra 2023 Winners

In singles championship, non seeded player Tallon Griekspoor from Netherlands becomes champion. Tallon played final against French star Benjamin Bonzi and defeated him in final set (4-6, 7-6, 6-3). this is 1st ATP career title for Tallon Griekspoor. While in doubles championship, Belgian pair SanderGillé / Joran Vliegen defeated Indian pair Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan / N.Sriram Balaji. Winners won final in straight sets with 6-4, 6-4. This is 6th ATP doubles title for both as a team.

Tata Open Maharashtra 2023 champion
Ttta open doubles champion

Tata Open Maharashtra History and Previous Winners


The Maharashtra Open was first held in 1996, in New Delhi and of the ATP World series of events. Since then, the event has undergone numerous changes to the venue, held inaugural in New Delhi, before shifting to Chennai for the next 10 years. Only recently has the Maharashtra Open found a new home at Pune under the Tata Group. The event also had many names and this is the 2nd time the Tata Group has chosen to sponsor the series, having done so from 2002-2004 previously as well. The event was also affected when Covid hit which led to the cancellation of the 2021 edition but it returned the following year.

Tata Open Maharashtra Winners

Of the previous winners of the event, the most notable is definitely Stan Wawrinka. He holds the record for most titles at the tournament at 4 as well most consecutive titles with 3 from 2014-2016. Leander Paes on the other hand leads in the doubles category with 6 titles, most of which he won alongside compatriot Mahesh Bhupathi who lags behind him by 1 title.

YearSingles ChampionDoubles Champions
2023Tallon GriekspoorSander Gillé / Joran Vliegen
2022Joao SousaRohan Bopanna / Ramkumar Ramanathan
2020Jiri VeselyAndre Goransson / Cristopher Rungkat
2019Kevin AndersonRohan Bopanna / Divij Sharan
2018Gilles SimonRobin Haase / Matwe Middelkoop
2017Roberto Bautista AgutRohan Bopanna / Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan

Tata Open Maharashtra Prize Money and Points

The total financial commitment and prize money for the 2023 Tata Open Maharashtra is $642,735. Prize money of champions with other rounds listed below.

StageSingles Prize MoneyDoubles Prize MoneyATP Points
2nd Round$11,280—–20
1st Round$6,895$3,5100

Keep in mind the prize fund and prize money distribution may be subject to change.

Tata Open Maharashtra Draws

The tournament will 28 singles and 16 doubles draws that will be released as the tournament progresses.

Tata Open Maharashtra Dates

Tata Open Maharashtra 2023 main draw will be held across 6 days, from the 2nd of January to the 7th. The qualifying rounds will be played the 2 days before the main draw, on the 31st of December 2022 and the 1st of January.

Tata Open Maharashtra Schedule

The event organizers haven’t yet released an official tournament schedule, so instead, we will be looking at an event format based on the 2022 edition.

DateSingles MatchesDoubles Matches
2nd JanuaryRound 1Round 1
3rd JanuaryRound 1Round 1
4th JanuaryRound 2Quarter Final
5th JanuaryQuarter FinalQuarter Final
6th JanuarySemi FinalSemi Final
7th JanuaryFinaleFinale

Keep in mind this schedule is unofficial and may be subject to change.

Tata Open Maharashtra Players List

This year the Tata Open Maharashtra has a good blend of familiar faces and new combatants. The doubles direct entrants in particular are star-studded, headlined by the infallible due of Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury. The 3-time Grand Slam-winning duo that recently triumphed at the ATP Finals will be new additions to the Maharashtra Open, sure to take the competitive matches to another level. The former doubles champions and home favorites Ramkumar Ramanathan and Rohan Bopanna will make a return to the competition but in separate teams this time around.

The singles lineup is impressive as well, however, with former world no. 3, US Open Champion, and 2-time Maharashtra Open winner Marin Cilic leading the group as the no. 1 seed. Last year’s runner-up Emil Ruusuvori will also return for another shot at the Tata Open Trophy. US Open quarter-finalist and former world no. 22, Biotic Van de Zandschlup is also set to participate in both the singles and doubles events. The reigning singles champion Joao Sousa will not be returning to defend his title.

Tata Open Maharashtra 2023 Singles Top Seeds

1Marin Cilic17
2Biotic Van de Zandschulp35
3Emil Ruusuvuori40
4Sebastian Baez43
5Jenson Brooksby48
6Alex Molcan50
7Filip Krajinovic55
8Juame Munar57

Remaining Players

Aslan Karatsev59
Benjamin Bonzi (Runner-up)60
Pedro Martinez62
Laslo Djere72
Bernabe Zapata Miralles74
Roberto Carballes74
Chun-Hsin Tseng88
Nikoloz Basilashvili92
Tallon Griekspoor (Champion)96
Radu Albot103
Marco Cecchinato105
Michael Mmoh110
Tim Van Rijthoven115

Singles Wild Card Entries

  • Sumit Nagal

TATA Open Maharashtra Doubles Seeds

  1Rajeev Ram / Joe Salisbury3 / 4
  2Ramkumar Ramanathan / Miguel Angel Reyes-Varela71 / 63
  3Nathaniel Lammons / Jackson Withrow46 / 49
  4Sadio Doumbia / Fabien Reboul59 / 53

Note the player’s list may be subject to change.

Tata Open Maharashtra Tickets

Tickets for the Tata Open Maharashtra will be available for purchase 26 December onwards from Zoonga for as low as 150 Indian Rupees. There are no day/night sessions and viewing of the qualifying rounds is free. To learn more about the tickets, click the link mentioned below.

Tata Open Maharashtra | Fans to return at Tata Open Maharashtra

To purchase tickets for the event follow the link mentioned below.

Zoonga – One stop shop for tickets to events, cricket, football, amusement parks, parties and other sports.

Similar Posts