Abierto Mexicano 2024 Results, Prize Money, Players, Schedule, Tickets

Leading up to the first ATP 1000 event of the season, there lies the Mexican Open. Given its significant position on the Tour, the event is a major competition acting as a warmup for the Indian Wells. Many of the world’s top players including young gun Holger Rune, and Top 10 players will be playing to win the giant silver gourd. To learn more about this highly anticipated event, keep on reading.

Abierto Mexicano Telcel Tennis Tournament

The Mexican Open/ Abierto Mexicano Telcel, also known as Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC for sponsorship reasons is an annual outdoor hard-court tournament held in Acapulco, Mexico. As an ATP-sanctioned event, the contest is part of the ATP 500 series and its venue is Arena GNP Seguros. This year will mark the 32nd edition of the event. Previously, the Mexican Open was part of the Golden Swing in Latin America but its position has since been changed to precede the Indian Wells Masters event. The title sponsors for the event are Telcel, a Mexican telecommunications company, and HSBC, a multinational universal bank and financial services provider.

LocationAcapulco, Mexico
VenueArena GNP Seguros
Tour categoryATP 500
Prize Money$2,206,080
Draw32 S, 16 D

ATP Mexican Open 2024 Results

In singles, Alex De Minaur Defended his ttile after defeating Casper Ruud in the final by straight sets 6-4, 6-4. 8th career’s title and 2nd ATP 500 for Alex. While in the doubles, Jan Zieliński / Hugo Nys defeated Neal Skupski and Jan Zieliński in the finals by straight 2 sets 6-3, 6-2.

Read Also: ATP Mexican Open 2024 Live Score

Abierto Mexicano 2023 Winners

They Australian tennis player Alex de Miñaur managed to establish himself champion in the 2023 Mexican Open at the GNP Arena in the resort of Acapulco, by defeating American Tommy Paul in the final in three sets with partials of 3-6, 6 -4 and 6-1. This is title number 7 for Alex de Minaur and his maiden ATP 500 crown.

While in doubles, Austrian pair Allexander Erler and Lucas Miedler are Doubles Champions of the Mexican Tennis Open. In a very even game that ended 7-6 7-6, the duo made up of the Austrians Alexander Erler and Lucas Miedler took glory by winning the Doubles category at the Mexican Tennis Open held in the port of Acapulco.

Alex de Minaur
Mexcian Open 2023

Abierto Mexicano History and Previous Winners


The Mexican Open held its inaugural edition 30 years ago in 1993. Through the 30 years of its existence, the tournament has undergone many changes. In 2001, the event became a part of the WTA Tour as well. The event was part of both tours until 2020 when the WTA event was canceled. Another change that was introduced was the court surface. For the first 20 years, the Mexican Open was played on red clay courts and was part of the Golden Swing of events in Latin America but following the 2013 edition, the court was changed to a hard court. The venues have also seen changes, going from the Club Aleman in Mexico City to the Fairmont Acapulco Princess for 11 years, only to change once again in 2022 to the Arena GNP Seguros.

Mexican Open Winners

The Mexican Open has always featured some of the best players in the world and this fact is most true when looking at their champions list. No. 1 players and Grand Slam champions like Rafael Nadal, Carlos Moya, and Gustavo Kuerten. Other Top 5 players like Alexander Zverez, David Ferrer, and Grigor Dimitrov have also played and won at the event. But among all these champions, the original King of Clay, Thomas Muster stands supreme with his record of 4 consecutive titles which are also tied with 2 others for most titles won at the event.

YearSingles ChampionDoubles Champions
2024Alex de MiñaurJan Zieliński / Hugo Nys
2023Alex de MiñaurAllexander Erler / Lucas Miedler
  2022  Rafael NadalStefanos Tsitsipas / Felliciano Lopez
  2021  Alexander ZverevKen Skupski / Neal Skupski
  2020  Rafael NadalLukasz Kubot / Marcelo Melo
  2019  Nick KyrgiosAlexander Zverev / Mischa Zverev
  2018  Juan Martin del PotroJamie Murray / Bruno Soares

Abierto Mexicano Telcel 2024 Prize Money

A total financial commitment of $2,377,565 is set for the event of which, $2,206,080 has been reserved as prize money. This value is an improvement compared to last year’s edition as in 2023, the total prize money was set at $2,013,940. The prize distribution is as follows:

StageSingles Prize MoneyDoubles Prize MoneyATP Points
2nd Round$32,265——45
1st Round$17,210$9,4600

Keep in mind the prize fund and prize money distribution may be subject to change.

Abierto Mexicano 2024 Draws

The event will have 32 singles and 16 doubles draws that will be released as the tournament progresses. 4 qualifiers will join 28 players in 1st round of main draw.

Mexican Open 2024 Dates, Schedule

The Abierto Mexicano Telcel main draw will take place across 6 days from 26 February- 2 March with a qualifying round set to for the weekend prior; on the 24th and 25th of February. A special promotional event, kids day will be held alongside the qualifications round.

The official schedule is as follows:

 DateSingles MatchesDoubles Matches
26th FebruaryRound 1Round 1
27th FebruaryRound 1Round 1
28th FebruaryRound 2Round 1
29th FebruaryQuarter FinalQuarter Final
1st MarchSemi FinalSemi Final
2nd MarchFinaleFinale
Keep in mind this schedule may be subject to change

Abierto Mexicano Telcel 2024 Players List

The Abierto Mexicano has a fine selection of players from around the world with a focus on new talent. Keeping this theme in mind, we have the German world no. 2 in ATP Rankings, Alexander Zverev.

Following him we have the one of the greatest Demark star Holger Rune. Defending champion Alex, America’s no. 1 Taylor Fritz, and many others will also be playing at Acapulco. Even the doubles competition will be jampacked with Santiago González and Neal Skupski, who will be leading the doubles competition. A full player list is given below.

Acupulco 2024 Singles Top Seeds

1Alexander Zverev6
2Holger Rune7
3Alex de Minaur9
4Taylor Fritz 10
5Stefanos Tsitsipas 11
6Casper Ruud 12
7Tommy Paul14
8Frances Tiafoe 15

Acapulco Open Singles Wild Card Entries and Qualifiers

  • Rodrigo Pachec
  • Ernesto Escobedo
  • Diego Schwartzman
  • Michael Mmoh (Q)
  • Aleksandar Kovacevic (Q)
  • Terence Atmane (Q)
  • Flavio Cobolli (Q)

2024 Doubles Main Draw Entry

1Santiago Gonzalez / Neal Skupski17
2Hugo Nys / Jan Zieliński49
3Rinky Hijikata / Joe Salisbury60
4Sadio Doumbia / Fabien Reboul69

Abierto Mexicano 2024 Tickets

There are no standard tickets that apply per day for the main draw, only multi-day passes. Tickets come in 4 different categories: Qualifications/Kids day, Monday- Wednesday passes, Weekend passes, and Full series passes. Qualifications/Kids day tickets are the only type to feature a standard ticket for the first day of the qualifications round. Monday to Wednesday passes apply for the 3 days of the event before the final segment of the event. While the weekend passes apply for the last 3 days which include the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and finals. The full series tickets cover the whole main draw of the event, from 26 February to 2 March.

  • Buy Mexican Open 2024 tickets via viagogo
  • Buy Mexican Open 2024 Tickets via Stubhub

Similar Posts